Jump to Navigation

State Minimum Wages in 2014

The 2014 federal minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 per hour for non-tipped employees, and $2.13 per hour for tipped employees. However, one state’s minimum wage will increase on December 31, 2013 and eight states have announced their minimum wage will increase on January 1, 2014. Moreover, one state has proposed an increase, effective January 1, 2014. Additionally, 2014 minimum wage determinations have not yet been announced by two states whose minimum wage is adjusted each January 1. Finally, one state’s minimum wage will increase on July 1, 2014.

State Increasing Minimum Wage on December 31, 2013

New York: A 3007 & S 2607 require that the state minimum wage increase from $7.25 to $8.00 per hour for non-exempt employees on December 31, 2013. The minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $8.75 per hour on December 31, 2014, and to $9.00 (or the federal minimum wage, if higher) on December 31, 2015.

States Increasing Minimum Wage on January 1, 2014

Arizona: The Industrial Commission of Arizona announced that the minimum wage will increase from $7.80 to $7.90 per hour for non-exempt employees effective January 1, 2014. The minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $4.80 top $4.90 per hour, plus tips.

Connecticut: SB 387 requires that the state minimum increase from $8.25 to $8.70 per hour for non-exempt employees, effective January 1, 2014. The minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $9.00 per hour on January 1, 2015.

Florida: The Department of Economic Opportunity announced that the minimum wage will increase from $7.79 to $7.93 per hour, effective January 1, 2014. The minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $4.77 per to $4.91 per hour, plus tips.

Montana: The Department of Labor & Industry announced that effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage will increase from $7.80 to $7.90 per hour for non-exempt employees.

Ohio: The Department of Commerce announced that effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage will increase from $7.85 to $7.95 per hour for non-tipped employees. In 2014, the minimum wage increases from at least $3.93 to at least $3.98 per hour, plus tips, for tipped employees. Note that the 2014 minimum wage provisions will only apply to business with annual gross receipts of more than $292,000 per year (In 2013: more than $288,000 per year).

Oregon: The Bureau of Labor & Industries announced that effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage will increase from $8.95 to $9.10 per hour for non-exempt employees.

Rhode Island: H 5079 & S 256 require that the minimum wage increase from $7.75 to $8.00 per hour for non-exempt employees. Rhode Island permits employers to apply a tip credit toward satisfying its minimum wage obligations for tipped employees, and sets a minimum cash wage tipped employees must be paid. However, that statute was not amended, so the minimum cash wage a tipped employee must be paid remains $2.89 per hour. However, the tip credit an employer may apply increases from $4.86 to $5.11 per hour.

Washington: The Department of Labor & Industries announced that effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage will increase from $9.19 to $9.32 per hour for non-exempt employees.

State Proposing Minimum Wage Increase in 2014

Colorado: The Department of Labor & Employment has proposed increasing the minimum wage, effective January 1, 2014, from $7.78 to $8.00 per hour for non-tipped employees. The Department also proposes increasing the minimum wage from $4.76 to $4.98 per hour for tipped employees. We will continue to monitor, and report on, Colorado’s final minimum wage determination.

States Where 2014 Minimum Wage Determination Is Pending

By statute, the minimum wage in Missouri and Vermont is adjusted on January 1. However, to date, no announcements have been made concerning these states’ 2014 minimum wage. Both states did not announce their 2013 minimum wage until November 2012. We will continue to monitor, and report on, final minimum wage determinations in Missouri and Vermont.

State Increasing Minimum on July 1, 2014

California: A.B. 10 requires that the state minimum wage increase from $8.00 to $9.00 per hour for non-exempt employees on July 1, 2014. The minimum wage is also scheduled to increase, on January 1, 2016, $10 per hour.

Subscribe

Subscribe by RSS/XML

Subscribe by email

* indicates required

Author