Mexico's New Minimum Wages and Geographical Zones Confirmed

On December 26, 2018, Mexico's National Minimum Wage Commission (“CONASAMI” for its acronym in Spanish) published in the Official Gazette of the Federation its resolution establishing the new general and professional minimum wages, effective January 1, 2019, and confirming the new geographical regions for minimum wage purposes.

The two geographical zones are as follows:

  • Northern Border’s Free Zone includes (i) Baja California: Ensenada, Playas de Rosarito, Tijuana, Tecate and Mexicali; (ii) Sonora: San Luis Rio Colorado, Puerto Peñasco, General Plutarco Elias Calles, Caborca, Altar, Saric, Nogales, Santa Cruz, Cananea, Naco and Agua Prieta; (iii) Chihuahua: Janos, Ascension, Juarez, Praxedis G. Guerrero, Guadalupe, Coyame del Sotol, Ojinagua and Manuel Benavides; (iv) Coahuila: Ocampo, Acuña, Zaragoza, Jimenez, Piedras Negras, Nava, Guerrero and Hidalgo; (v) Nuevo Leon: Anahuac; and (vi) Tamaulipas: Nuevo Laredo, Guerrero, Mier, Miguel Aleman, Camargo, Gustavo Diaz Ordaz, Reynosa, Río Bravo, Valle Hermoso and Matamoros.
  • General Minimum Wage Zone comprises the rest of the municipalities in Mexico.

The minimum wage in the Northern Border’s Free Zone will be $176.72 Mexican pesos per daily work shift, while the minimum wage for the General Minimum Wage Zone will be $102.68 Mexican pesos per daily work shift.

In addition, the CONASAMI published a list of the minimum daily wages per profession and wage zone. Click here to access the complete list.

Information contained in this publication is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice or opinion, nor is it a substitute for the professional judgment of an attorney.