Date & Time
Thursday, November 7, 2019
   |   
10:00 am-10:45 am
PST
   |   Webinar
Questions?

Contact Taylor Wallace at twallace@littler.com

The ACA's Employer Mandate has not been repealed, nor is it being ignored. Rather, for several years now, it has been creating potential huge tax liabilities for employers who are in the line of fire of the IRS. The IRS has been aggressive in pursuing employers who may or may not have violated the employer mandate – some just have committed foot faults on their reporting forms. So if you receive a letter entitled 226-J from the IRS, do not ignore it!

These letters are formal notices which propose often hefty penalties based on the manner in which IRS Forms 1094-C and 1095-C have been completed. The penalties are assessed where an employer allegedly failed to comply with the employer shared responsibility provisions of the Affordable Care Act. The claim may be that you as an employer did not offer appropriate coverage to at least 95% of your full-time employees or that you did not offer coverage that was “affordable". If you receive this letter, the IRS presumes you owe a penalty tax for a given tax year and it is up to you to rebut this presumption.

The presenters will discuss what you should do if you receive an IRS Letter 226-J, and will also provide a refresher on the employer shared responsibility rules under the ACA, including compliance with the ACA measurement requirements and the reporting rules with respect to IRS Forms 1094-C and 1095-C.

Time:

10:00 - 10:40 am PT
11:00 - 11:40 am MT
12:00 - 12:40 pm CT
1:00 - 1:40 pm ET