Date & Time
Friday, May 13, 2022
   |   
6:00 am-7:00 am
PDT
   |   Webinar
Continuing Education:
CLE, SPHR/PHR and SHRM certifications are pending approval.
Questions?

Contact Kellie Cromarty at kcromarty@littler.com

On March 10, 2022, the Florida Legislature passed Florida House Bill 7/Senate Bill 148 (HB 7) (nicknamed the “Stop W.O.K.E. Act”), amending the Florida Civil Rights Act to expand an employer's civil liability by placing certain limitations on the topics an employer can discuss when conducting diversity training in the workplace. Florida is the first state in the nation to pass a measure such as this, with other states, including Tennessee, not far behind. This webinar will provide a general overview of Florida HB 7 (which is expected to be signed into law by Gov. DeSantis and take effect July 1, 2022) and will allow time for discussion addressing what steps companies should take now.

Segments will include:

  • Overview of prohibitions in the workplace by the Florida Stop W.O.K.E. Act
  • Steps employers should take to safeguard their current anti-discrimination training programs from mounting “discomfort” claims
  • Potential challenges a mandate such as this poses for companies operating nationwide and seeking to preserve their Faragher-Ellerth defense to hostile work environment claims

Time:
6:00 - 7:00 a.m. PT
7:00 - 8:00 a.m. MT
8:00 - 9:00 a.m. CT
9:00 - 10:00 a.m. ET