Date & Time
Thursday, April 7, 2016
   |   
10:00 am-11:30 am
PDT
   |   Webinar
Continuing Education:
CLE, SPHR/PHR and SHRM certifications are pending approval.
Questions?

Contact Bethany Kempfe at bkempfe@littler.com or (214) 880-8131

During 2016, OSHA and the SEC are continuing their aggressive efforts to encourage whistleblowing and reward whistleblowers. Terminated and current employees continue to invoke a wide array of federal whistleblower statutes to challenge adverse employment decisions. Some whistleblowers have succeeded on their claims, and the SEC continues to award whistleblowers bounties in some high-profile cases involving publicly traded companies. However, not all adverse employment decisions have been deemed unlawful retaliation.

This webinar will bring you up-to-speed on the most important federal whistleblower developments during the past year.

Topics:

  • When a company is at risk under the False Claims Act
  • The SEC’s Office of Whistleblower and the SEC Chairwoman’s continued encouragement of corporate whistleblowing
  • Recent developments under Dodd Frank, including the status of the “internal company complaint” standing issue
  • Recent developments under SOX, including continued uncertainty over the complex “causation” element
  • OSHA’s new Whistleblower Investigations Manual effective January 28, 2016
  • Recent developments under the other federal whistleblower laws administered by OSHA
  • Other recent federal agency whistleblower developments, including for federal contractors

Time:
8:00 – 9:30 am HST
10:00 – 11:30 am PT
11:00 am – 12:30 pm MT
12:00 – 1:30 pm CT
1:00 – 2:30 pm ET 

Login information will be emailed to registered participants.

 

Speakers

Kevin E. Griffith

Office Managing Shareholder