President Nominates Charlotte Burrows to be a new EEOC Commissioner

Days after President Obama stated he was naming Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) Vice Chair Jenny Yang (D) to fill departing Chair Jacqueline Berrien's seat on the Commission, the White House announced that it was nominating Department of Justice (DOJ) Associate Deputy Attorney General Charlotte Burrows to become a new member to complete the five-member board. 

According to the White House press release, Burrows has worked at the DOJ in her current capacity since 2009.  She previously worked for the DOJ as a trial attorney from 1998-2002; as a special litigation counsel from 2002-2003; and as Deputy Chief in 2003. Prior to re-joining the DOJ, Burrows worked for various Senate committees.  She served as General Counsel for Civil and Constitutional Rights to the late Senator Edward M. Kennedy on the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions (HELP) in 2009, and on the Judiciary Committee from 2007-2008.  From 2003-2007, Burrows worked as a legal counsel on the Senate Judiciary Committee.  

Following her graduation from Princeton University and Yale Law School, Burrows worked briefly as an associate in private practice, and then as a clerk for Judge Timothy K. Lewis of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit. 

In addition to Yang, current sitting EEOC members include Commissioners Chai Feldblum (D), Constance Barker (R) and Victoria Lipnic (R).

Information contained in this publication is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice or opinion, nor is it a substitute for the professional judgment of an attorney.