Mexico: Various Governmental Authorities Declare Non-Working Days Due to Earthquake

As Mexico's earthquake recovery efforts continue, the list of government authorities that have declared non-working days due to this natural disaster continues to grow.  This means that various actions and proceedings before those institutional entities are deemed suspended on those non-working days, including administrative proceedings, legal challenges, notifications, requirements, and requests for information or documents.  The non-working days also cannot be included in computations of timeframes and deadlines. 

An updated list of the governmental entities, and the specific “non-working days” they declare, is as follows:

  1. The Secretariat of Labor and Social Security: September 19 through 22.
  1. The Secretariat of the Interior, including its dependent organizations, such as the National Institute of Migration: September 25 through 29.
  1. National Council for the Prevention of Discrimination (“CONAPRED,” which stands for “Consejo Nacional para Prevenir la Discriminación”): September 22.
  1. Institute of Security and Social Services for State Workers (“ISSSTE,” which stands for “Instituto de Seguridad y Servicios Sociales de los Trabajadores del Estado”): September 19 to 22.

For more information on this topic, please read our recent publications concerning the non-working days as declared by the Mexican Institute of Social Security (“IMSS,” which stands for “Instituto Mexicano del Seguro Social”) and the General Plenary Session of the Superior Chamber of the Federal Court of Administrative Justice.

We will continue to monitor this situation and will report on any pertinent developments.

Information contained in this publication is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice or opinion, nor is it a substitute for the professional judgment of an attorney.