House Committee Approves E-2 Visa Legislation for Israeli Investors

The House Judiciary Committee has approved legislation that would add Israel to the list of countries whose citizens are eligible for an E-2 nonimmigrant treaty investor visa. Senators Charles Schumer (D-NY), Mark Kirk (R-IL) and Jon Kyl (R-AZ) proposed a companion bill in May 2011, but that bill has not yet moved through the Senate Judiciary Committee.

The E-2 visa allows individuals who make a substantial investment in the United States to live in the United States on a temporary basis while they direct the operations of their investment enterprise. Currently, 79 countries have treaties with the United States that allow their citizens to apply for E-2 status.

Israeli nationals are currently eligible for E-1 treaty trader visas based on a separate reciprocal treaty between the United States and Israel. The E-1 visa is a nonimmigrant visa for a foreign national who is coming to the United States to conduct substantial trade between the United States and Israel.

Information contained in this publication is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice or opinion, nor is it a substitute for the professional judgment of an attorney.