Fess Up or Pay Up: Travelers to New York From Restricted States Must Submit Report or Face Fines

Last month, New York, New Jersey and Connecticut issued a Joint Travel Advisory requiring all persons who enter the Tristate Area from states with significant COVID-19 transmission rates to quarantine for 14 days. Under New York’s travel advisory guidance, quarantine is mandatory for all travelers entering New York from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents, or higher than a 10% test positivity rate, over a seven-day rolling average.

Citing non-compliance with the quarantine restrictions, as observed by an uptick in positive COVID-19 cases stemming from people traveling into New York from a restricted state, on July 13, 2020, Governor Cuomo announced that all out-of-state travelers from the restricted states must submit the “Traveler Health Form” upon arrival in New York. As part of the enforcement operation, enforcement teams will be stationed at airports statewide. Air travelers who leave the airport without completing the form either in hard copy or online will be subject to a $2,000 fine and a summons. Those entering New York from designated states through other means of transportation, including automobiles or trains, are required to fill out the form online. The Traveler Health Form can be found here.

Currently, the following 22 states meet the criteria for mandatory quarantine: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Wisconsin. Travelers entering New York from Delaware are no longer subject to the quarantine requirement.  Check here for the most current list of restricted states.

Information contained in this publication is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice or opinion, nor is it a substitute for the professional judgment of an attorney.