Date & Time
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
   |   
12:30 pm-1:30 pm
PDT
   |   Webinar
Continuing Education:
CLE, SPHR/PHR and SHRM certifications are pending approval.
Questions?

Contact Erin Carmona at ecarmona@littler.com

Virginia has long been recognized as an employer-friendly jurisdiction, but in the wake of a Democratic trifecta, where both houses of the state legislature and the governorship are now controlled by one political party, and even in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Commonwealth has enacted a series of new laws that have redefined the employment landscape. These new laws are designed to provide broad protections for employees, and include, among other things:

  • Restrictions on covenants not to compete for low-wage workers
  • Expansion of employment discrimination protections for LGBT and pregnant employees
  • New private right of action and investigative authority regarding misclassification of workers as independent contractors
  • Stricter penalties for employers who commit wage violations

These developments are in addition to several significant laws that took effect in 2019 that also imposed obligations on Virginia employers, such as new laws pertaining to disclosure of pay, restrictions on confidentiality in cases of sexual assault, and granting employees access to personnel records. 

This webinar will examine this new wave of employment laws in Virginia, explain the risks employers now face, and discuss best strategies and practices to ensure compliance.

Time:

12:30 - 1:30 p.m. PT
1:30 - 2:30 p.m. MT
2:30 - 3:30 p.m. CT
3:30 - 4:30 p.m. ET