Date & Time
Thursday, May 24, 2018
   |   
1:00 pm-1:45 pm
PDT
   |   Webinar
Questions?

Contact Shea Geyer at sgeyer@littler.com

In a decisive 5-4 opinion written by Justice Gorsuch, the Supreme Court reversed Epic Systems and held that class action waivers in employment arbitration agreements must be enforced under the Federal Arbitration Act (FAA), and neither the FAA’s “saving clause nor the NLRA suggest otherwise.” This is an enormous victory for employers. In this webinar, Littler’s Alternative Dispute Resolution practice group will discuss and provide immediate take-aways from the opinion.

Topics:

  • The holding and scope of the opinion
  • The impact on employment class actions going forward
  • Immediate to-do items regarding employment arbitration agreements and potential changes to agreements
  • Strategies to leverage the holding to prevent employment class actions
  • Expected response from the plaintiffs’ bar
  • Potential impact of the opinion on challenges to PAGA

Time:

1:00 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. PT
3:00 p.m. – 3:45 p.m. CT
4:00 p.m. – 4:45 p.m. ET

Speakers

Robert F. Friedman

Office Managing Shareholder