Date & Time
Thursday, April 18, 2019
   |   
9:00 am-10:30 am
PDT
   |   Webinar
Continuing Education:
CLE, SPHR/PHR and SHRM certifications are pending approval.
Questions?

Contact Aeree Lee at alee@littler.com

As we move deeper into the 2019 legislative session, the Connecticut General Assembly is considering several proposed bills that will affect employers in various and meaningful ways if passed. Leading the charge is Senate Bill No. 1, which would create a comprehensive system of paid family and medical leave. The proposed legislation, which is widely expected to pass, would require nearly all employers to provide up to 12 weeks of paid leave to covered employees in any 12-month period.

During this informative webinar, we will provide a brief history of the legislative efforts to implement a paid family and medical leave program in Connecticut. We will also review Senate Bill No. 1 and discuss potential compliance concerns, including:

  • Employee eligibility requirements, compensation, and mandatory deductions from employee pay
  • Which employers would be covered
  • Notice, documentation, and record-keeping requirements
  • Enforcement and penalties for non-compliance

We will also cover other potential legislative developments, including a likely increase in the statutory minimum wage, restrictions on captive-audience meetings, sexual harassment training obligations, and predictive scheduling requirements.  

For more information on this topic, please see Littler’s recent Insight, “Legislative Update on Proposed Labor and Employment Bills Affecting Connecticut Employers.” 

Time:

9:00 - 10:30 am PT
10:00 - 11:30 am MT
11:00 am - 12:30 pm CT
12:00 - 1:30 pm ET

Speakers