Information contained in this publication is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice or opinion, nor is it a substitute for the professional judgment of an attorney.
Nevada has a two-tiered minimum wage rate dependent on whether an employer offers qualifying health benefits. As of July 1, 2009, the minimum hourly wage for employees who receive qualified health benefits from their employer will be $6.55. For all other employees, the minimum wage will be $7.55 per hour.
In Nevada, employers must pay one and one-half times an employee's regular rate of pay when an employee: (1) is paid less than one and one-half times the applicable minimum wage rate and (2) works more than 40 hours in any workweek or more than eight hours in any workday, unless otherwise exempted by Nevada Revised Statutes 608.018. Therefore, effective July 1, 2009, the daily overtime may apply if the employee to whom qualifying health benefits have been offered by the employer is paid less than $9.825 per hour. For an employee who is not offered health benefits, daily overtime may apply if the employee is paid less than $11.325 per hour.
This blog entry was authored by Roger Grandgenett.