Jump to Navigation

As Expected, the NMB Rewards Labor With Lax Election Rules

Webinar
May 26, 2010
Event/Organization: 
Littler Mendelson Webinar

On May 11, 2010, the National Mediation Board ("NMB") published its much-anticipated and highly controversial Final Rule radically altering the way the Agency conducts representation elections among employees of air and rail carriers. Overturning more than seventy years of precedent, the NMB selectively included provisions from the National Labor Relations Act that make it easier for unions to organize non-airline and non-railroad employees, while simultaneously refusing to include the provisions under that regime that protect an employee’s choice to not support a union.

Continuing our effort to keep carriers abreast of the short-term and long term implications of this historic shift, Littler is offering this complimentary webinar, which features:

  • Detailed discussion of the Final Rule, which includes a number of obvious accommodations to organized labor that were not even included in the NMB’s Notice of Proposed Rule Making.
  • Littler’s ongoing efforts through the Freedom of Information Act to uncover the extent of Labor’s influence and the Agency majority’s bias.
  • Analysis of avenues for potential legal challenge and the interested parties most likely to pursue legal action to overturn the Final Rule.
  • Littler’s perspective on legal and practical considerations carriers need to consider in the near-term, before the Final Rule goes into place.
  • Practical guidance for carriers readying themselves for the new NLRA-type landscape and the impact of the Final Rule.

The webinar will be led by Littler attorneys Don Maliniak, Ilyse Schuman and John Telford.

May 25, 2010
10:00 am Pacific Time
11:00 am Mountain Time
12:00 pm Central Time
1:00 pm Eastern Time

Login information will be sent two days prior to the webinar. For questions, please contact Keith Upton at 415.399.8450 or kupton@littler.com.

CLE and SPHR/PHR credits are pending for this program.