Jump to Navigation

NLRB Nominations Sent to the Senate

Senate in session.jpgOn February 13, 2012 President Obama formally sent the nominations of Sharon Block, Terence Flynn, and Richard Griffin, Jr. to the Senate for confirmation as National Labor Relations Board members. The three most recent Board additions were seated via recess appointment last month. The President’s decision to exercise his recess appointment power while the Senate was still holding brief pro forma sessions has generated a substantial amount of controversy, as expressed during a congressional hearing held last week. The legality of this move is currently being challenged judicially and through legislation. While Obama announced his intent to nominate Flynn in January 2011, he did not name Block and Griffin as his choices until December 14, 2011.

Given the ongoing disagreement about the validity of the recess appointments, the Senate is not likely to confirm the appointees. If the Senate were to approve their nominations, however, Block’s term would expire on December 16, 2014; Flynn’s term would last until August 27, 2015; and Griffin’s term would end on August 27, 2016.


Subscribe by RSS/XML

Subscribe by email

* indicates required